Our Engagement Story – Part 1

Hive, Mr. BC surprised the crap out of me when he proposed.  I was not expecting it at all, and he really outdid himself.  Buckle up everyone, because it’s kind of a long story.

Some back story:  back in December 2012, I mentioned to Mr. BC that I really wanted to get some fresh crabs to eat.  I suggested we hit up the grocery store and steam and eat them at home.  He said that was a great idea, but that he didn’t want to deal with the mess and smell of cooking seafood at our place. He made a counter proposal: what if he took a Saturday off work and we drove up to Bodega Bay and had a nice lunch.  Someone had just recommended an awesome seafood restaurant.  I said that sounded great.  Little did I know that that was his excuse and catalyst to plan one of the best weekends of my life!

On Saturday Jan 12, 2013, We woke up excited for our lunch in Bodega.  Well, at least I did.  But little did I know how much was in store for me!  That morning, he asked me if I would be up for doing some wine tasting on the way up.  Who am I to ever turn down wine tasting?  So he did a little research and we hit the road!  (Side note: Mr BC was acting funny, but I did not really pick up on it.  I’d see him act weird, and just dismiss it. A proposal was the very last thing on my mind.)

We finally set off on our adventure, and had a good time together in the car on the ride up.  It was a GORGEOUS day: blue skies and not a cloud in the sky, but cold temperatures.  It was January after all.

The Iphone map let us down, and we accidentally drove right past the winery.  (Which was a theme for the day!)  We doubled back, and finally arrived at the winery just after noon.  The general manager (and owner of the winery) poured our wines and gave us the rundown on the winery, the wines and her family.   We had a grand time sipping wine and exploring the grounds.

Engaged 1Personal Photo

Once we left the winery, we had about an hour drive to Bodega bay.  Mr. BC took the route he and his family had always taken when they drove up there when he was a kid.  It was fun going down memory lane and hearing the funny family stories of Mr. BC’s youth.

Once we got into town, we tried to find the Spud Point Crab Company.  This was another (mis?) adventure with the map.  We drove around in circles before finally finding the place.  If you’re ever in Bodega Bay, please do yourself a favor and come here! Spud Point Crab Company is  a tiny hole in the wall place.  (The place was so tiny that you basically lined up outside, and got to go inside to place your order and then came back outside to eat your food.)  They have picnic tables outside with a lovely marina/bay view.    The food!!  OMG, THE FOOD!  So good.  Holy delicious.

We were stuffed after lunch, so we decided to take a little walk around the marina.  We got to a TINY stretch of sand on the shore line so I joked that here was the beach Mr. BC had been looking for.  (It was about a 10 foot stretch of sand and mud, no waves.)

Engaged 2The “mud” beach.  We were facing a giant parking lot.  So romantic.

I thought were going to head home at this point, but Mr. BC said we had to hit the REAL beach! We hopped back in the car to find the beach of his childhood, Porteugese beach.  Mr. BC grabbed a backpack from the trunk (triggering my single suspicion all day long about a possible proposal.  Why did he need a backpack???).  We walked down to the surf and tried to find our spot.

Engaged 3Engaged 4Beautiful day at a beautiful beach.  Goofing off with selfies

Personal Photos

We finally find our beach spot and set up the blanket.  It was SO ROMANTIC.  We had the blanket and the sand and the waves.  We laid down and watched the waves and talked some more.  I told him what a wonderful, magical, memorable day.  And, we talked some more about what Molokai was going to be like (he was ramping up to leave).  If the day had ended there, it still would have been one of my favorite days… a day full of love, laughter and togetherness.  I was still holding out a tiny bit of hope for a proposal, so I kept giving him what I thought were moments that he could make his move; I’d take very long, lingering looks at the ocean.  But… nothing happened.  So I gave up hope.

Finally, Mr. BC got up to put his coat on.  I asked him if he was ready to leave.  He said yes, that it was getting cold.  We packed our stuff up, and started walking back to the car.  While we were walking, Mr. BC started talking about how meaningful the beach was to him, and he was glad to share it with me.  It was at this point, where I was like: “okay, maybe we should stop so I can look at you.”  He still kind of stumbled over his words a little, and it was very close after that that I realized what was going on.  As soon as I realized, I started bawling… a full on “ugly cry”.  It was bad, guys! Ewww!

Mr. BC got down on one knee, and pulled out the ring box.  I so wish I could remember what he said to me but the whole thing is a giant blur.  It was something like “This has been a time of me saying yes to things lately, and the most amazing things have been happening when I say yes… and now I’m saying yes to you.  I hope you will say yes to me.  I brought you here because this beach is special to me.  It’s a place of many family memories, and I want it to be special to you… this is the place I asked you to be my wife.  After all this time, I haven’t been ready, but now I am ready.  I’m ready to spend the rest of my life with you.  I love you.  We have so much love in our family, love that I want to grow with you.  Miss first, middle and last name BC, will you marry me?”   I immediately said “YES!”

Then I, of course, started trying to take selfies using our phones.  We were engaged!!

Engaged 5First picture as an engaged couple!  Hello shadows over my face!

Engaged 6We found another couple on the beach to take our picture

While we walked back to the car Mr. BC said: “We aren’t going home yet!”.  I was still shell shocked and was like: “what?!?….

To be continued!

3 thoughts on “Our Engagement Story – Part 1

  1. Pingback: 1 year engage-aversary | Take A Napa

  2. Pingback: All things wedding website related… | Take A Napa

Leave a Reply

