Say cheeeeeeeeese!

Oh wedding photographers.  There is so much to love about them.  I love, love, love reading wedding blogs and looking at all the pretty pictures.  (I’m a Wedding Bee addict since ’08!)

When it came to picking my photographer, honestly, options are limited since we’re talking about the DR.  I could fly a photographer in, but that would mean MAJOR extra dollars spent… additional flights to pay for and hotel nights.  I am too cheap for that.  Plus, I don’t have a photographer I love enough to fly in.

The resort has an in house photographer, but the prices are astronomical.  For thousands of dollars you get… not that much.   The suck part is that I can choose to bring in an outside photographer, BUT if I do, I’d have to pay an outside resort fee (which is not a small number).  However, after crunching the numbers, that is exactly what we decided to do.  The in-house photographer is so expensive, that I can bring an outside photographer in, pay the outside resort fee and pretty much still pay the same amount but get a lot more for my $$.

I checked out lots of DR photographers… I’ll spare you all the photos, reviews and forum research I did.  After looking at all the photographers and getting lots of quotes, I ended up picking PhotoPhil Steingard!  I’d first heard of PhotoPhil on WeddingBee!  Mrs Sea Breeze got married in the DR and used PhotoPhil.  She raved about him.

In addition to doing photographs, he’s also super familiar with the DR and the resorts and he’ll act as a day of coordinator for brides.  Um, two for one?  YES PLEASE!

We exchanged emails and spoke on the phone and I was hooked!  I paid the deposit, and we’re confirmed!

Here’s some pretty wedding PhotoPhil goodness (all pictures copyright from Phil Steingard Studios)

stepingard 1jpg steingard 2 steingard 3

 

 

steingard 4 steingard 4 steingard 6jpg steingard 7

These are all “posed”, processed shots.  PhotoPhil also does great “in the moment” shots too.  Just google him!  I just put the shots that really excited me, and sold me on his work.  And just for fun, here’s a neat pic of him:

steingard self

All Images via Steingard Studios

I can’t wait to work with him!  From everything I’ve seen and read, he seems like a really fun (and very talented) guy.

3 thoughts on “Say cheeeeeeeeese!

  1. Pingback: Picking an Officiant | Take A Napa

  2. Pingback: Trash the Dress & Wedding Regret | Take A Napa

  3. Pingback: Trash the Dress & Wedding Regret | Take A Napa

Leave a Reply

