DIY: Wedding Favor Tags

Hello Hive!  It’s time for another  mediocre DIY project from a not-very-crafty person.

Wedding Favor Tags!

I actually got this  idea about our wedding favors pretty early on in the planning process.  Mr. BC’s last name is Jordan.  And while it’s kind of cheesy, and incredibly old fashioned, I just LOVED the idea of using Jordan almond favors with a cute tag saying: “Love, the Jordans”.

In all my Etsy viewing I found this sign that I LOVED:

Favor WordingImage via Etsy Seller: Banalsonart

I heart rhymes.  Just in case you can’t read it, it says: “We’ve said the I do’s, here’s a favor for you.  Five sugared almonds for each guest to eat, to remind us that life is both bitter and sweet.   Five wishes for the new husband and wife: health, wealth, happiness, children and long life.”

At first I was going to buy this sign, but at $15 plus shipping for a sign, I figured I could make  something similar on my own.  I brainstormed about using this wording on our wedding favor tags, and how I wanted it to look.

I got to crafting last week… and this is what I ended up with:

favor tag

I am really happy with how these turned out.  I tweaked the wording a little, and put: “We’ve said the I Do’s, here’s a favor for you!  Five sugared almonds for you to eat, to remind us that life is both bitter and sweet.  5 wishes for the new husband and wife: family, health, wealth, happiness and long life.”  (We’re undecided about kids, so I turned that into “family”.)

I’m going to use a heart hole punch and attach them to clear favor boxes with 5 almonds and a red organza ribbon.

Jordan AlmondImage via My Wedding Favors

Imagine this, but with a red organza ribbon

LOVE!

Putting these together was pretty easy.  I had a template from Best Destination Wedding for OOT bag tags that I re-purposed for the favor tags.  I added the wording onto my template and cut out the squares.  Then, I took red card stock and measured out squares with a ruler and pencil to created grid lines.

favor2Here is my sheet of favor tags and pencil grid-lined red card stock.

Chop, chop, chop, and you get a million tiny squares.  I used permanent glue tape on the back of the white label and secured it onto the red card stock.  Easy peasy!

I will confess that I had typo’s TWICE and had to redo these two times.  Trés annoying.  But it did allow me to get very familiar with the paper cutter, so I guess that’s a good thing.  I feel like my cuts on the third time around were a lot better.

I am thrilled with how this project turned out.  Hopefully the actual finished product (once I get the favors + boxes) will be exactly what I had envisioned.

Are you DIY any part of your wedding favors?  Is using Jordan almonds too old fashioned / cheesy?

4 thoughts on “DIY: Wedding Favor Tags

  1. Hi there 🙂 Thank you for including my almond sign in your post! You’ve done a great job with your DIY projects and I love that you chose the almonds as a favor based on your sweetie’s last name! – just wanted to offer a little more info for those not wanting to go the DIY route – even if any items in my Etsy shop are showing as sold they are still available as a custom order – especially if what is pictured doesn’t fit your color scheme! 🙂 And just wanted to weigh in on the pricing… lol – you’re looking at 3 layers of sturdy shimmer (metallic) cardstock tough enough for easel display and a professionally arranged ‘typography’ collage of the wording (actually takes a lot of work! 🙂 ) I’m happy to help, love what I do, and glad I was able to be of inspiration to you! Best wishes and God bless your marriage 🙂 ~Barb

Leave a Reply

