What I’ve Been Working on… A Sneak Peek

Let’s talk about wedding ceremony programs!

I think I got extremely over-enthusiastic about our wedding programs.  (What else is new?) For some reason, I decided that I wanted to DIY petal fan programs.

petal fanImage via Etsy Seller: AyleighDesignes

So pretty and classy, right???  These are $3 a pop, and with only 30 programs, they are not really *that* expensive.  But I’ve got lots of time and internet templates at my disposal, so why buy what you can make for (almost) free?

In order to make this project even harder, and more time consuming on myself, I thought it would be fun to add a pop of color to the fans, and I’m going to add an extra layer of red card stock behind the text part of the program.  (This makes double the work of an already pretty  labor intensive project.)

What can I say?  I am crazy!  I think having so long to plan a wedding makes you really enthusiastic and ambitious about wedding crafting.  And really… I have the time.

I decided to get a head start on this since it was going to be SO MUCH cutting…

Here’s your sneak peek of what I’ve got done thus far:

ProgramPersonal Photo

It’s a work in progress, but so far I am liking how these are turning out.  Unfortunately, there was no template for a larger sized petal, so I had to hand-make the red card stock petal (which I’m sure you can tell. Uneven, much?).  Some more adjustments need to be made.

Each program will consist of four petals: a cover petal, wedding party (list the officiant, parents of the bride and room, bridal party, etc)  petal, ceremony petal, and “thanks for coming / we love you” petal.  I’m going to eyelet them at the bottom, add a red satin ribbon, and attach a tube of bubbles.

I ran out of white card stock today, so I’ll have to take a break with only 2 petals being completed.  I figure I’ll wait a lot longer to tackle the wedding party and thank you petal.  Mr. BC is home for a visit in August, so it’s the perfect chance to involve him.

It could be a huge mistake getting this started SO soon, but I’ve got the time, drive, and excitement… so may as well get going.

I’m doing 30 programs with four petals each (actually eight if you count the background card stock)… which means a total of 240 petals that I’ve got to cut.  I do a little bit each day.  So far I’ve got all the red background card stock done, and 1/2 of the white.  It’s actually not so bad.  I take 10 minutes here and 10 minutes there to cut (and cut, and cut…)

But I gotta say, so far so good.  Not bad for a fake crafty person. As soon as I’m done, I’ll post how I made them.  (Spoiler alert: AyleeBits has a great tutorial and templates for these!)

Did you decide to DIY or BIY your wedding programs?  Are you doing anything special with them? (Petals, fan, booklet, etc).  Are there any fun and creative programs that I am missing out on?

Leave a Reply

