The cost of beauty

So if you remember yesterdays post, I talked about my recent trip to Sephora for a bridal make over.  Today, I wanted to go into detail about what Jolene used on me.

Just to refresh your memory, this is the make up I use on a daily basis:

Beauty 1Not very much: SPF Moisturizer, powder foundation, eye shadow, eye liner, mascara

This was what I looked like after my make over:

Make Up 4

To look like that, this is what Jolene used on me:

beauty 3

  • Laura Mercier Foundation Primer
  • Diorskin Forever Foundation
  • Urban Decay Primer Potion
  • Naked Basic 2 Eye Shadow Pallet
  • Too Faced Boudoir Eye Pallet
  • Anastacia Taupe Brow Pencil
  • Stila Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner
  • Stila Smudge Stick Pencil Waterproof Eyeliner
  • Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes Waterproof Mascara
  • Bobbi Brown Contouring Sticks #4 and #6.3
  • Tarte Matte Bronzer
  • Tarte Blush in Dazzle
  • Ambient Hourglass Radiant Light Highlighter
  • Buxum liptstick in Au Natural

To me, that is a lot of make up to look natural.  I so wish I had taken a photo of all of the makeup on the counter once we were done.  But I’m a terrible blogger, and I just have this one:

beauty 5womp, womp… just the primer, foundation and foundation brush pic

What I (a makeup moron) learned from my trial:  Do your eye make up first. Foundation, and all the rest, came after the eyes.  For a smokey eye, start with the dark colors and blend VERY slowly using very little product.   Big eyebrows are in right now.  (Woohoo!  I already have thick brows.   She put a bunch of stuff in my eyebrows, but I couldn’t tell the difference at all.  Finally my huge brows are in style.)   My final take away was that I am incompetent and really would like to go back for another trial.  And also practice my butt off.

This is what I ended up purchasing:

beauty 2Foundation primer, foundation, liquid eyeliner, pencil eyeliner and mascara.  I tried to stick to the staples.  I may return the foundation primer, because really, I’m a bit embarrassed at how much I spent. 

I am in awe of beauty guru’s.  Putting on make up is truly an art form.  I may buy a few more items at my second trial, but make up costs a lot!  Do you get used to wearing that much make up on your face?  I asked Jolene, who looked stunning, how long it took for her to do her make up and she said when she first started it was over an hour, but now she is down to 15 minutes.  I guess I will have to play around on the weekend a lot because my entire morning routine is a grand total of 30 minutes, and I’m not waking up earlier to put make up on (I have my priorities, and it’s definitely sleep).

Are you a beauty guru?  How did you learn how to put on fancy schmancy make up?  Does anyone else feel like an incompetent, beauty dummy?  Are you attempting to DIY your make up for your wedding? Did you have sticker shock at how much professional grade cosmetics cost?

I can now understand why professional wedding makeup costs as much as it does.  Stocking up on all that stuff is expensive!

Leave a Reply

