Then & Now: Border Collie Edition

Oh, high school…

Then Blog 1

School portraits: Freshman to Senior

I was on the swim team all four years of high school, and was co-captain senior year:

Then 7Gross.  I’d had laparoscopic surgery like 2 days before this was taken.  My, don’t I look fetching?  I also take comfort that even when I was skinnier, I still had thunder thighs.

I was in the French club….

… and the marching band:

Band

I went to Junior and Senior proms:

Then Blog 2

Jr. Prom date guy was a set-up who sucked.  Sr Prom date was with a great friend.

I took tap/jazz/ballet classes:

Then 8

I took embarrassing portraits with friends:

Then 9

I have a million sets of photos just like this.

And, had poor fashion sense (but in my defense, it was the 90’s):

Then 11

What in the hell was I thinking?!?  I don’t even know where to begin with this outfit… Why is my pocket hanging out, and my short cuffs uneven?  Did I own a mirror???  Dark socks with white shoes?  Sexy!

Based on this article, I think I’ve got five faux pas in this pic alone: Sun In, Bodysuit, scrunchie, jean cut offs, … check, check, check, check!  I can’t believe that “fanny pack” wasn’t on the tragic list.  And, I only WISHED I’d had a starter jacket.  My best friend (see delightful, posed photo above with the balloons) totally had one.  I was very jealous.

Oh, high school… I wouldn’t go back for all the money in the world!  I was beyond awkward in high school.  Each year I jumped around from friendship circle to friendship circle, trying to find my niche.  (Spoiler alert: I didn’t.)  I was terrified of boys and relationships.  I had a few 2 week relationships in Junior High, and some flirtations with boys in high school.  My longest relationship in high school was Junior year… we lasted one whole month, before I spazzed out, and broke up with him.   Back then, I couldn’t even fathom being in a real relationship, much less married!

This is how utterly uncool I was:

Then 12

Grad Night.  Look at my trend setting friends, not wearing their grad night shirts!

Heck, even Bestie M, is smoking hot in her grad night shirt:

Then 14

High school… Thank God I survived it.

Now:

now 1

Work selfie in terrible fluorescent lighting. My skin still breaks out at age 35.  In fact, I think I breakout more as an adult than I ever did as a teenager.

Well… some things never change.  As an adult I’m still awkward and spazzy.  But, at least I’m getting married!  High school can suck it.

Have you changed much since high school?  Would you go back and be a teenager again?

Leave a Reply

