Ring Pillow… Carrier Things

Wow, sure is dead around these parts, isn’t it?  I guess everyone is, like, doing that holiday thing… I think it’s called “Christmas”?  I’m knee deep in stress, and am basically skipping Christmas this year.  I sent each of our parents, and my brother, a Harry and David gift basket and everyone else is getting a “I’m so sorry, I didn’t get you anything.”  (Confession: I may have scrounged up a few gifts out of wedding related leftovers.  Please, don’t judge me too harshly.)  I hope everyone can forgive me/us.

Mr. BC is home today!  YES!  I pick him up from the airport at 9:30 (so look for me/us at SFO!).

Him coming home is super exciting.  But, it’s also very stressful.  He’s basically reintegrating into normal life; from a teeny tiny community of 80 people with no restaurants, movie theaters, or convenience stores, back into the hustle and bustle of the Bay Area.  It is going to be an interesting two weeks until the wedding.  (OMG, two weeks!)

In addition to the stress of Mr. BC coming home, we’re both extremely stressed about our jobs (for different reasons, though.)  They say weddings, moves, and job changes are the top three stress events in life.  Mr. BC has three out of three.  I’ve got 2.5 out of three (I’m taking half credit for his move!).    Seriously, it’s going to be an interesting two weeks.

I may, or may not, have reached a point this past week where I wished the wedding was over.  And, then I kicked myself.  I’m trying so very hard not to let the stress of life get in the way of our wedding.  I’m trying very much to remember that this whole experience is about our union, our families, and the joining of our lives together.  But, dang… It’s tough sometimes.

Where is the wedding-related content (and pretty pictures), you might be asking yourself?  Well, here you go!

I’m stock piling all my vacation for my wedding, so in a fit of nerves and stress, while I was at work this week I decided that we needed something to carry our rings on for the ceremony.  (I need more stuff to bring to the Dominican Republic like I need another hole in my head.  But, when retail therapy calls, who am I to ignore her?)

I was looking for something like this:

Shell 1

Mrs. Meerkat’s shell ring holder | Image via WeddingBee | Photo via Del Sol

It took me a whopping 10 minutes to find, and purchase, this baby:

Sand Dollar 2 Sand DollarImages via Etsy Seller FairyfolkWedding

I really like that it still fits the beachy theme, but is a bit unique from the regular, old seashell.

Hive, how’s your wedding stress?  Is anyone else struggling with the holiday stress, plus wedding planning stress? Have you made any impulse purchases this Christmas week?

Leave a Reply

