Total Re-Collie: Here comes the bride

After I had my first look with my parents, the wedding coordinator ushered us all out of the spa.  A horse drawn carriage was waiting to take my dad and me to the ceremony site:

All Photos from Phil Steingard Studio (unless otherwise noted)

MCKAY WED-0631

We took some photos…

MCKAY WED-0637

And were off!

MCKAY WED-0642

The carriage took a back trail to the ceremony site, and parked out of sight.  I could just barely see the bridge at the very beginning of the altar (but not the gazebo or any of our guests).

My dad and I sat around awhile in the carriage waiting for the processional to start.  We couldn’t really see much and had no idea what was going on.  It felt like we waited forever, but it was probably 10 minutes.

IMG_4988Image via Beach Wedding Studio

As I previously mentioned, as soon as I heard the processional song, I totally started ugly cying.  Look at my dad, he has no idea what was going on.  I think he was laughing at me.  HA!

IMG_4996Image via Beach Wedding Studio

Finally, the carriage started moving, and the music changed.

I went extremely unoriginal (story of my life), I mean traditional, and walked down the aisle to Pachabel’s Canon in D.  Cliche, I know.  I remember watching Father of the Bride when I was young and bawling as Kimberly Williams walked down the aisle to this song.  I always, always imagined me doing the same.  Listen along:

Luckily, getting myself, and my dad, out of the carriage was enough of a distraction to calm the ugly cry.  (It was difficult getting us both out, with his cane, and my big, tulle skirt.) From then on out, I just had dainty, lady-like, tears running down my face.

We got out of the carriage, walked over the little wooden bridge, and down the alter:

MCKAY WED-0702 MCKAY WED-0704 MCKAY WED-0706

Once I got him down all the steps, I was able to take his arm.  He asked me if we were standing on the correct sides, and I was like: “I have no idea?!?”  We went with it… (IS there a correct side the bride should walk down???)

MCKAY WED-0707

As I approached our guests, my sister in law shouted “It’s too soon to cry!” and I shouted back: “IT’S TOO LATE!” and everyone started laughing.

MCKAY WED-0708

If you remember, Mr. BC and I did not do a first look (and I am really glad we didn’t… I have no idea when we would have crammed those pictures in.)  I had told Phil in advance that I REALLY wanted the pictures of Mr. BC seeing me walk down the aisle for the first time.

MCKAY WED-0714 MCKAY WED-0720

WORTH IT!

MCKAY WED-0725

I don’t know if you can see it, but he was totally crying too.

MCKAY WED-0732

My reaction to seeing him (oops, leaky eyes…)MCKAY WED-0741

IMG_5019Image from Beach Wedding Studio

bordercollie wedding graphic

Missed a post? Catch up here:

 

Leave a Reply

