Total Re-Collie: The Ceremony (Part 3)

After our vows, it was time to exchange the rings, and finish the paperwork.

All photos by Phil Steingard Studios

Ring Exchange

MCKAY WED-0763

For thousands of years, lovers have exchanged rings as a token of their vows. These rings represent your gifts to each other as you wear them through the years. They will collect their nicks and scratches.  Take on their own personalities much like both of you will. They may get a little scarred on the outside as you might too. But during many of those times, notice if you take your ring off and you look on the inside of the band and it is perfect, shiny and brand new and so may it be with your love of each other.

MCKAY WED-0916

Timothy: in placing this ring on Kelly´s finger, repeat after me:

“I, Timothy, take you Kelly, to be my wife, my partner in life and my one true love. I will cherish our union and love you more each day than I did the day before. I will trust you and respect you, laugh with you and cry with you, loving you faithfully through good times and bad, regardless of the obstacles we may face together.  I give you this ring as a symbol of my love.  As it encircles your finger, may it remind you always that you are surrounded by my enduring love.”

MCKAY WED-0919
Kelly’s Response: “I will wear it gladly and whenever I look at it, I will remember this joyous day and the vows we’ve made.”

Kelly, in placing this ring on Timothy’s finger, repeat after me:

“I, Kelly, take you, Timothy, to be my husband, my partner in life and my one true love.  I will cherish our union, and love you more each day than I did the day before. I will trust you and respect you, laugh with you and cry with you, loving you faithfully through good times and bad, regardless of the obstacles we may face together. I give you this ring as a symbol of my love. As it encircles your finger, may it remind you always that you are surrounded by my enduring love.”

MCKAY WED-0930
Timothy’s Response: “I will wear it gladly and whenever I look at it, I will remember this joyous day and the vows we’ve made.”

I’m pretty sure someone had to remind us not to kiss at this point.  hehe.

MCKAY WED-0936

Next up was another reading: “The Art of a Good Marriage” – by Wilferd Arlan Peterson:

Happiness in marriage is not something that just happens.  A good marriage must be created.  In marriage the little things are the big things.  It is never being too old to hold hands.  It is remembering to say “I love you” at least once a day.  It is never going to sleep angry.  It is at no time taking the other for granted; the courtship should not end with the honeymoon, it should continue through the years.  It is having a mutual sense of values and common objectives.  It is standing together facing the world.  It is forming a circle of love that gathers the whole family.  It is doing things for each other, not in the attitude of duty or sacrifice,but in the spirit of joy.It is speaking words of appreciation and demonstrating gratitude in thoughtful ways.  It is not looking for perfection in each other.  It is cultivating flexibility, patience, understanding and a sense of humor.  It is having the capacity to forgive and forget.  It is giving each other an atmosphere in which each can grow old.  It is a common search for the good and the beautiful.  It is establishing a relationship in which the independence is equal, dependence is mutual and the obligation is reciprocal.  It is not only marrying the right partner, it is being the right partner.

MCKAY WED-0975

Unity Sand Ceremony

MCKAY WED-0666This was taken earlier in the ceremony

There is a song that speaks of “a long and winding road” and before you met, your lives were on such a road… each going in different directions and seemingly leading to different destinations. But somewhere along the way you took a fork in the road to a destination called “love” and today you find yourselves standing together at the entrance of a new path that will join your once separate journeys into one.

These two containers of sand represent your different lives.. Each container represents the separate journeys you once were on. They also represent your own sets of friends and families that once were apart. I will ask that in a moment you both blend your individual container of sand together… representing the coming together of your friends and family, through your marriage, into one. And as the sand is blended into one container, your once solitary journeys will now be one of companionship, as you walk a single path together into your future.

I now ask that you blend your containers of sand together.

MCKAY WED-0949 MCKAY WED-0955

As the sand has blended together, your lives are now joined. Your friends and family are as one as well, for now you will share those who are in your lives and will walk hand-in-hand along the path of your marriage – united and strong as husband and wife.

MCKAY WED-0957

Signing of Wedding Certificate

MCKAY WED-0960 MCKAY WED-0964 MCKAY WED-0966

MOH M signed.

MCKAY WED-0968

And then BM D signed.MCKAY WED-0970

Benediction

Timothy and Kelly, we have heard your promise to share your lives in marriage. We recognize and respect the vows you have made here this day before each one of us as a witness.

I conclude the ceremony with: May the love that has brought you together continue to grow and enrich your lives. May your house be a place of happiness for all who enter there. A place where the old and the young are renewed in each other’s company; a place for growing, a place for music, but most of all… Let it be a place of laughter.

IMG_5162Image from Beach Wedding Studio

By the authority granted unto me as a Minister of the Gospel of the Church of Christ, I now declare that Timothy and Kelly are husband and wife. You may seal your marriage with a kiss.

MCKAY WED-0980 MCKAY WED-0981

Timothy and Kelly, congratulations and may you have many, many years of happiness together!

It’s my pleasure to present to you, for the very first time, this new husband and wife, Mr. and Mrs. Timothy and Kelly Border Collie.

MCKAY WED-0977

May God bless you always!

We were married!  Woot!

bordercollie wedding graphic

Missed a post? Catch up here:

 

Leave a Reply

