Total Re-Collie: Dinner & Toasts

It just so happened that we finished taking our photos in the lobby, right next to the Martini Bar.  So, it was very easy to loop back with the rest of our wedding guests.  I just love it when a plan comes together.  The details are a little fuzzy for me here. (It couldn’t possibly be from the two mama juana shots we had while taking pictures…)  I think the entire group had gathered, but the wedding coordinator was no where in sight.  So we just decided to walk to Las Olas and see if they would let us in.  While walking through the lobby, the saxophone player (Domingo) saw us, and started playing “Here Comes the Bride” on the sax.  As we passed everyone would yell their congratulations to us.

All photos from Phil Steingard Studio (unless otherwise noted)

We arrived at Las Olas, and got seated.  My sister in law went around the table and shouted out everyones seat assignments so people didn’t have to wander around.  Once we were all seated, drinks were poured and food was brought out.

In case you were wondering, the restaurant is open air.  It was ridiculously windy on our wedding day.  So the staff put the plastic stuff up over the “windows”.  Even with them, it was still a bit windy.  Most of the tea lights blew out.  Oh well….

MCKAY WED-1701We sat down and I examined all my little details:

MCKAY WED-1717

MCKAY WED-1801

IMG_4608Personal Photo

Everyone ate, and our friends and family gave toasts.

First up, the food…

Caesar Salad:

MCKAY WED-1813

Potato Leak Soup:

IMG_4626 Personal Photo

Beef filet with lobster tail, mashed potatoes and vegetables:

MCKAY WED-1896

My brother acted as MC and kept the night rolling.MCKAY WED-1818

First up for toasts was GM D (Mr. BC’s brother)MCKAY WED-1822 MCKAY WED-1823I really love that Mr. BC drank red wine out of his champagne flute.  hehe.
MCKAY WED-1834

Next up… MOH M

MCKAY WED-1837
MCKAY WED-1856 MCKAY WED-1859

Then Mr. BC’s mom and dad.

MCKAY WED-1861 MCKAY WED-1868 MCKAY WED-1870

And, then my dad.  My dad thinks he’s soooo funny.  He said all this nice stuff and finished with “Mr. BC, you better teach Mrs. BC how to cook!”.  Look at that smirk on his face!  (For the record, I can cook, and Mr. BC defended my honor.)

MCKAY WED-1872 MCKAY WED-1875 MCKAY WED-1879

My Uncle B and GM D also toasted us

MCKAY WED-1885 MCKAY WED-1911

My brother gave the last toast of the night.  I made it through eight loved ones saying incredibly nice and meaningful things about us without crying…. until, my big brother did his toast.

MCKAY WED-1957

MCKAY WED-1962

MCKAY WED-1965

Please excuse the girls in all of these pictures.  I really needed to pull my dress up.  My cup(s) runneth over.  Oops!

My only mini-regret was that I really wish we had video of everyone’s toasts.  They were so heartfelt, and sincere, and awesome, and I really can’t remember what everyone said.  So take note future brides, if you think the toasts will be important to you (and you don’t have a videographer), ask a family member if they will video them for you.  Even a cell phone recording would have been great.  Womp womp…

Next up, we cut the cake and dance.

bordercollie wedding graphic

Missed a post? Catch up here:

Leave a Reply

