Total Re-Collie: We cut the cake, give thanks, and dance

I’m just throwing this out there… Cake in the DR is DELICIOUS!  Our wedding cake was excellent, and definitely the highlight of the meal for me.  We got so many compliments on the cake.  (In fact, we took the leftovers with us at the end of the night, and everyone got to enjoy it again.)  We selected chocolate cake with strawberry filling and it had a white butter cream frosting.

All photos from Phil Steingard Studios

The cake!  Complete with our cat cut outs and custom cake topper.

MCKAY WED-1778

MCKAY WED-1783

MCKAY WED-1785

We posed with the kids
MCKAY WED-1915

Luckily, I’ve read many, many weddingbee posts about cutting the cake.  So I knew that my hand grabbed the knife, and Mr. BC put his hand on top of mine.

MCKAY WED-1917

Getting ready to feed each other.MCKAY WED-1919

So, while we were eating dinner I thought to ask Mr. BC about the cake smash.  I asked him if I could smash cake in his face (and of course I said he couldn’t do it back to me).  He said no.  So I was like: “pleeeeeeeeeease!” and he said it would be okay if I “kept the smash really small”. Me:  “Sure, no problem honey!”  (I’m sure everyone sees where this is going, right?)

MCKAY WED-1920

Oops… looks like I am getting a little excited…

MCKAY WED-1921

Uh oh. I definitely got a little overly enthusiastic.  (As I tend to do…)  But, this picture is so worth it.

MCKAY WED-1922

MCKAY WED-1924

I totally don’t remember what he did/said, but I’m pretty sure that Mr. BC got the last laugh.

MCKAY WED-1925

I know that cake smashing is a bit controversial.  People who are against it, are REALLY against it.  Yes, you pay a lot of money for your make up, but, eh, I just wanted to have fun.  Plus, I knew Mr. BC would be a gentleman (and he knows that I’m not a lady…).  I loved our cake smash, and was the right thing for us.

Next we did our thank you’s:

MCKAY WED-1932

MCKAY WED-1945Photos of me talking really suck.

A toast to our guests!

MCKAY WED-1950

We went right into our first dance.  “Better Together” by Jack Johnson has been our song for eight years.  Listen along if you’d like:

 

Back story:  In the weeks prior to the wedding, I asked Mr. BC if he wanted to practice the first dance.  He always said “later”.  So the Monday before we were scheduled to leave, I asked him again and he gave me the same “later” response.  I might have had a mini melt down, and accused him of not caring about our wedding.  But, once I calmed the eff down, I asked him if he just wanted to wing it on the dance floor.  And, he said that he did.  So we winged it!  Mr. BC has taken a lot of dance lessons and is a pretty good dancer.  I am a terrible dancer and a crappy follower.  What could go wrong?

We started out with the basics…

MCKAY WED-1973

We sang to each other… (And, apparently my hair started falling out of it’s ‘do)

MCKAY WED-1977

MCKAY WED-1982

MCKAY WED-1989

Then Mr. BC busted out the fancy moves.  I did my best to follow along.

MCKAY WED-1996

MCKAY WED-1999

MCKAY WED-2001

MCKAY WED-2011

MCKAY WED-2013

And, the grand finale…

MCKAY WED-2016

Phew… I didn’t suck.  Next up, the dance party begins!
bordercollie wedding graphic

Missed a post? Catch up here:

Leave a Reply

