Total Re-Collie: The Not Right

Hive, as much as my wedding day was perfect to Mr. BC and I, I’d be lying if I said everything went absolutely right.   But, in my (biased) opinion, it didn’t necessarily go wrong.  It’s all about perspective, right?

I hesitated with whether or not to write this post because I don’t want to dwell on the negative, but I always try to be authentic, and this is the real deal.  I also wanted to share my experience with you all, in the hopes that you don’t make some of my mistakes.

MCKAY WED-1041Photo from Phil Steingard Studios | How could this be anything but right?

A destination wedding was my dream wedding.  A huge plus about destination weddings is that they are all-inclusive!  Someone else does a bulk of the heavy lifting for you.  Unfortunately, there are also some con’s to a destination wedding: the time difference, language barrier, and working with “island time”.  All of which can lead to a lack of communication and confusion.

I had some communication snafus on the wedding morning.  Prior to the wedding, Phil had asked that I order lunch in advance.  There was a long gap in between breakfast and cocktail hour and he wanted to make sure everyone was fed.  While getting my hair styled, I asked the wedding coordinator if we could have food delivered to the spa, and she said it was fine.  But, when I attempted to order lunch, I was told they wouldn’t deliver to the spa.  We ended up making an unscheduled trip to the buffet to eat lunch, so it all worked out.

Another island time issue  came into play with the bouquets.  They were supposed to be delivered by noon.  I’m not sure when they actually arrived, but I had to run around the spa and try and track down the wedding coordinator to figure out where they were.  Not exactly how you want to spend the morning of your wedding, but what can you do?

Also, in all the hustle and bustle of the day, I ended up losing a few things.  My “Mrs” hanger never made it back to me.  I also lost my grandmother’s hankie.  I checked all over the resort, and with multiple concierges, but sadly both items are gone for good.

Also, with a destination wedding, it can be difficult because you’re unable to see the spaces you’re working with, or test run anything.  My nails (which I’ve mentioned before) and my hair fall into this category.  I went into my wedding day with no hair or make up trial.  I sat in the chair and trusted the staff to do their thing.  I got to pick my hair style out of a book, but had zero input on my make up.  I loved my make-up.  I mostly loved my hair, but there was one piece in the back that was loose and eventually fell out.  I didn’t even realize it until I looked at the pictures.

The next few are not destination wedding specific, but I’ll still share in the hopes that my follies can be your successes:

  • Stick with trusted beauty guru’s!  Unfortunately, my regular hair (color) guy moved a month before my wedding.  I had to go to someone new and her work was not quite what I had envisioned.
  • Communicate with your guests.  I wish I would have explained the mad libs guest book rather than just saying “please sign our guestbook”.
  • Make a must-have photo list.  I realized after the fact that I have no 1:1 pictures with my girls.  This is my own fault.  I figured Photo Phil had standard shots, so I never gave him a complete list of pictures I wanted.  My bad.

Most of that stuff is pretty negligible and not that important. Plus, a lot of the things that went not right were unavoidable, and in those moments I really didn’t care (too much) that things were derailing from the original plan/schedule.  The actual day was full of love, and happiness, and smiles, and laughter.  Photo Phil gave me some great advice, he said “Enjoy every moment of the day.  It will go by fast.”  He then told me about how he met many brides who were so concerned about the details, all day long, that they didn’t start having fun and enjoying themselves until later in the evening.  And then it was over!  That really stuck with me.  I woke up that morning and really tried to enjoy every moment of the day, even when things were stressful.

Mrs. Gloves said it best:

“I just wanted to share one thought. I’ve helped to organize about six weddings in the 13 months that McGlovin and I have been married, and one thing has proved true in each wedding: your day will be exactly what it needs to be, if you let it.  Sometimes we get caught up in the tiny details of our wedding days, and that’s fine! It’s good to acknowledge the huge amount of work that needs to be done, and all of the seemingly unimportant things that need to come together to make our weddings what they need to be. What I’m suggesting, though, is that you plan everything to the best of your abilities, and then choose a specific day and time where you delegate what you can, and let life handle the rest. Fill your wedding day with as much joy as possible, and let that bliss carry you through the entire day. It’ll be the exact version of perfect that it needs to be!”

degiralomo_web_0228Image by barefeet studio | Photo from Mrs. Gloves on Weddingbee

I read this after my wedding, and nodded my head along as I read.  Even though stuff may not have gone exactly right, it was still the best day ever to Mr. BC and I.  Once we were home I asked him what he thought of everything.  His response: “It was the best day of my life”.  My response:  “Me too”.  And, that’s good enough for me!

bordercollie wedding graphic

Leave a Reply

